Worth Repairing?

nikchick04June 30, 2006

Hi there,

I have a 97 Chrysler Sebring, which I recently brought to the dealer because it was driving poorly, leaking coolant, and shaking vigorously at anything over 50 mph. Turns out that both head gaskets are bad, I need tie rods, and some brake work, totaling approximately $4,500. I'm a college student - I don't have anywhere near this amount of money just lying around, but I need something to drive. If I had to, I could use my credit card for the repairs (don't want to do that, but like I said I don't have the cash), but would it be worth it? The car has 113k miles - it isn't even worth the $4,500 that it would cost to fix it, and I am concerned that it wouldn't last much longer after putting so much money into it. My other option would be to get an inexpensive used car (I would put a small down payment and then would have to finance), but I imagine it would be difficult to find something newer and/or with fewer miles in the same price range. I just need something reliable, hopefully that would last at least a few years without any major problems. Any opions on what my best option would be?

Thanks,

Nikki

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
steve_o

I wouldn't spend that kind of money to fix it. I'm hoping you got more than one estimate for all this work. Dealers are fairly expensive for this kind of service, and it's not like your car is so unusual that a good independent mechanic couldn't fix what's wrong. Go get estimates from local independent mechanics you or your friends and coworkers trust (e.g., not Sears or CarX). That technician also should be able to tell you what else you may be spending money on soon. Then you can decide.