Opinions on tires?

housenewbieMarch 7, 2006

Anyone have any experience w/ any of these:

Hankook mileage plus

michelin weatherwise

goodrich traction

goodyear regatta

I have a 2002 Subaru forester, 205/70/15

I've had a lot of trouble finding reviews of the hankook online. Have found a few on the goodrich/goodyear. Not a whole lot tho.

Anyone know a good place for tire ratings?

Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bill_h

cant go wrong with michelin, might want to look at toyo also they have a good rep. last time i replaced my michelins, i went with toyo, have about 10k on them and been happy with them

    Bookmark   March 7, 2006 at 7:46PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ken_in_kc

Go to Tirerack.com, enter your make and model of vehicle, and it gives you a choice of what kind of tire (all season, performance, etc,)what brands you want to review and then info and ratings on those. There's a chart that compares all tire brands in the type you select.

You have to beware of the reader comments. Often you'll see one person rave about the tire, the next comment the person hates it. Usually the people that say they drive agressively are never satistified. Just have to go by the average reader score.

    Bookmark   March 8, 2006 at 10:42AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
earthworm

Or some men find "all-season" to be useless on snow when they should be using the proper tire.
Performance tires belong on the track, they tend to be noisy and wear quickly.
I am beginning to think there is no such thing as a good all-around tire..
I found the Hankook site, but it is useless 100% advertising - to be avoided at all costs..

    Bookmark   March 8, 2006 at 11:35AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
reekola

I've been happy with Michelin's ("X" - all season Mud and Snow - that specific tire only sold through Costco) on two of my cars. 80K miles treadware warranty, fairly quiet, good in rain and snow (as long as you know how to drive in those conditions). Michelin has $50-$60 discount offers every so often if you buy 4. Consumer reports also has ratings on tires. Go to the library to find the issue that has your type of tire (all season).

    Bookmark   March 8, 2006 at 3:20PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
steve_o

Anyone know a good place for tire ratings?

Tire Rack is good. 1010tires.com is good, too. Keep in mind that reviews usually are limited to the brands that are sold on that site. Might also try consumersearch.com; that site rounds up reviews done by other organizations.

As you read the reviews, though, pay special attention to the reviews from people with your particular car or cars like yours. I don't think there's a lot you can learn about tires for your car from someone using them on, say, a rear-wheel-drive Cadillac or a minivan. Tires of vastly different sizes can be quite different. And reviews from people who've had the tires for several thousand miles are better than those who are ranting or raving about tires they've had for a whole week.

As for the tires you mentioned, I have no direct experience with those particular tires. However, my experience with Michelin tires always has been good, though with Michelin you definitely pay for the privilege. I'm not a Goodyear fan -- too many mediocre tires among the really good ones and I think they're overpriced compared to the competition. Hankook is a fairly new brand in the U.S.; they're from Korea.

Other less-expensive brands you might want to check out include Cooper, Toyo, and Dunlop. I've heard good things about the first two and liked the Dunlops I've had.

    Bookmark   March 8, 2006 at 10:21PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
andyf

Well, I'd say don't bother with high priced jobs. My cheapo Wallmart snow/ice tires have been on my Comanche pickup for 8 years, never take 'em off even in summer. Every season my rears carry a 2 cord load of wood in one trip for a total of 20 cords, and that's on hot asphalt. My springs have busted on two occasions, and I had to install Monroe Air lift shocks, and still they can take the punishment. (I even have one with a side cord that looks a bit iffy.)

I think the all seasons are useless, as they don't have the lugs. The labs try to bring out yet another tested design, because they are striving for low noise. But the reality is if it don't have teeth, and I mean a good 1/2in of space between lugs, forget about serious snow driving. I think the noise problem is being handled right now and is as good as it's going to get. I say get used to the noise, which I think is hardly noticable anyway.

BTW: For us low speed fogies in the north country with trucks that work hard, bring back the deep lugged retreads for non-commercial vehicles. Never had problems with them. If they need to bring back bias-belted to do it, I say whatever it takes. The tire scraps along the roads are indicators of excessive speed, or are using the tires until the threads are too thin to hold the bonding at high revs.

M2C

Andy

    Bookmark   March 9, 2006 at 9:55AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
sdello

based on reviews from tirerack, i bought Goodyear Regatta II's for my wife's full size caprice wagon. I thought they performed very well and the price was reasonable. Also through tirearck I went with Yokohama for my mazda millenia. The yoko's had all of the same ratings as the OEM michelins and the price was less than 1/2.

I use the price quotes on tirerack as a barometer of what to pay a local shop (of course you need to consider the shipping and installation as well).

FWIW: Last go around no one locally could match the tirerack price on the yoko's I bought directly from tirerack and had a local Midas install and balance. Net savings was $100 on 4 tires. The midas guys (who also sold Yokohama tires) were glad to do it. I told them is they could come close to the tirerack price, I'd gladly buy from them. The response was that thier cost was the difference so it really didn't matter too much to them. Nice guys and I'll definitely be going back for other stuff like oil changes/alignments/etc.

    Bookmark   March 9, 2006 at 12:10PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bonnie_2006

Kumho Ecsta ASX,excellent tire.

    Bookmark   May 20, 2006 at 2:11PM
Sign Up to comment
More Discussions
dump my buick rendezvous?
Do you know the Buick Rendezvous? Mine has been outstanding...
handywidow
Nissan 350Z P1757
My car Nissan 350Z 2007 has an issue. Trouble codes...
254qi
Car
Need AWD Dodge Magnum RT
1stjfpintor
Cost to Replace Car Battery?
DH took our 2005 Jaguar X-Type into the dealer for...
chisue
Tire Question
I have a 2007 Honda Ridgeline with 13,000 miles (yes,...
momrox4
People viewed this after searching for:
© 2015 Houzz Inc. Houzz® The new way to design your home™