Old Sink

sailfishDecember 5, 2010

We have acquired two old cast iron sinks. It is our intention to install them. We need information on how to care for them. One is 2'X4' and the other is 2'x6'. They are shallow about 6" deep. The surface is raw cast iron, no enameling. I think they were called "black" sinks or "seasoned" sinks. Any experts? TIA

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
cyn427 (zone 7)

They sound very cool, but it seems an odd thing to have a cast iron sink with no sort of finish. I am no expert, but having used cast iron pans for years, I would imagine you would need to oil the sinks or something since they absolutely will rust. Do you have a picture? Are you positive they are cast iron? I have seen zinc or soapstone sinks, but the idea of using cast iron for something that gets wet all the time baffles me.

Bookmark   December 5, 2010 at 5:57PM
joyce_6333

I agree with Cyn...I would check and see if they're soapstone. I've seen antique soapstone sinks advertised on ebay that are the sizes of your sink. Does it look like any of these?

We had a HUGE double ALBERENE soapstone sink in our basement when we bought this old house. I had no use for it, and I couldn't find anyone to even take the thing away for free. Some antique guy wanted me to pay him to take it. It weighed a ton. Finally DH just broke it up into pieces to get it out.

Here is a link that might be useful: Antique Soapstone Sinks

Bookmark   December 5, 2010 at 7:09PM
jemdandy

The finish may be a black oxide of iron (seasoning) or japaning.

Bookmark   December 6, 2010 at 2:06AM
sailfish