Bosch DWs: normal versus auto load settings, rinse aid amount?

Derek87February 1, 2012

i'm new to the world of Bosch and we'll be taking delivery on our Bosch 800 plus tomorrow (the lowest model 7ER). i see that it has two "regular" cleaning cycles: one labeled normal, the other labeled auto.

can any experienced users comment on using one versus the other. i know in principle what they mean, but is there any disadvantage to just using "auto"?

different topic: what's a good setting for the rinse aid if one is already using something like Powerballs which include a rinse aid, and their water is softened or soft? (we'll be using the water softener)

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jscout

I have the 500 series, but I don't think it functions any differently than the 800. I generally leave mine on Auto. I think if you read the manual it'll probably suggest the Auto setting for most washes and just let the machine do its job. Sometimes I'll override it for a quick wash.

For rinse aid, I leave it on 1. I started with 3 and then lowered it with successive washes. It has always dried well and my glasses come out clear, even at 1 so I leave it there.

Bookmark   February 1, 2012 at 7:21PM
tyguy

I also have the 500...I often use the "auto plus" as I find it does a better job than the "normal" or "auto" setting. I think the regular auto and normal settings are a little too frugal with the water. Also auto plus sanatizes which I like.

Bookmark   February 1, 2012 at 11:54PM
Derek87

thanks for the tips, jscout and tyguy! (not sure if the 800 plus has "auto plus" but i'll play around with the different options)

Bookmark   February 2, 2012 at 11:40AM
jscout

Also, check you user guide on how to set the water temp higher. If your model has it, setting the temp higher will help it in the drying process.

Bookmark   February 2, 2012 at 12:01PM
asolo