Old 40's Bed Frame - Want to Black Distress Finish (pic)

pacnwgrdngirlOctober 18, 2007

Hi there! I scored an awesome old bed frame and rails at the local Elks rummage sale. (Is it 30's 40's?) The bed is solid and in excellent condition. The finish.... Terrible. Have already started sanding rough areas. I would like to make it a distressed black finish. With the brown showing through. I have some experience with re-finishing etc. I am an antiques-a-holic. I've rescued some pretty scary pieces and given them new life. What do you suggest?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lindac

I my opinion that's way too nice to paint black and distress.....
Your picture looks like a beautiful piece of cherry or maple, in a sort of art nouveau style....perhaps even earlier that 1900.
Linda C

Bookmark   October 18, 2007 at 5:06PM
calliope

I agree with Linda. I would not paint this piece. It's older than forties (although I could believe late as 30s but could definately be older) and like she said, the wood is nice.

Bookmark   October 18, 2007 at 6:05PM
pacnwgrdngirl

I'm all for natural wood! I would love this to be restored, but it is really in bad shape. The top where the decorative piece is came off on each side. I had to sand the area that it came off. There is a lot of veneer that is loose that I puttied and sanded smooth. Some of the veneer is actually gone. Just sanded smooth in those areas. The picture looks a lot better than it really is. In my opinion, there's no hope for it to be left in it's original finish. I would never do something like this to a piece I thought I could save. You really think it is that old?

Bookmark   October 18, 2007 at 7:22PM
stocky

It's a great bed, do not paint it black ! (that's just my opinion)
It's Walnut 99% sure,though not 100% sure about that band across the bottom of the footboard. Looks like Mahogany or Rosewood. Find someone who has veneers and get yourself some Walnut and do the repairs. I'd be happy to walk ya thru it.