Question for professional Hairdressers in the group

CatKozJuly 14, 2005

I've been using semi-permanent color (L'Oreal ColorSpa) to cover my grey under the assumption that semi-permanent is less damaging to hair than permanent color.

Is this correct, or am I deluding myself ?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
centralcacyclist

I'm no pro but I have done the semi permament color and had my hair color professionally done (permanment color). The semi-permanent I have done at home seems much more drying.

Bookmark   July 16, 2005 at 10:32PM
joann23456

I'm not a hairdresser either, but I did exactly as you're doing under the same assumption. Now, I have my hair professionally colored with a permanent product, and see no dryness. I do use products meant for colored hair, which add moisture.

Bookmark   July 18, 2005 at 10:34AM
petaloid

I used to use Clairol's professional The Beautiful Collection semi-permanent (from a beauty supply store) and had no problems with damage or drying. It covered the greys well for about 4-6 weeks at a time.

Now I get professional highlighting and lowlighting which camouflages and blends in the grey. That works well for me, but I do need to use some conditioner on the ends.

Bookmark   July 18, 2005 at 1:11PM
CatKoz

Thanks for the feedback, ya'll.

I'm wondering if other semi-permanent brands are less drying.

I've seen The Beautiful Collection in Sally's. I think I'll give it a whirl next time around.

Bookmark   July 18, 2005 at 7:58PM
ponderinstuff

Semi Permanant has a lower volume of peroxide and mostly coats the hair (that is why it wears off, it can stain the hair though). Permanent has higher volume of peroxide/more damage. Pulling the color through your ends continually can damage it.

Many hairdressers use permanent on roots to cover gray and color ends with a semi or demi color to balance it as needed, which is less damaging.

Some hair products contain ammonia which is hard on the hair too.