Sofa, Victorian, Art Deco? Help please.

love_savannahJuly 12, 2010

I purchased this sofa about 10 years ago at an antique shop in Savannah. I'm thinking about selling it and would like to know exactly what style it is. I've been calling it Victorian; however, I believe Art Deco may be a closer match.

I'd appreciate your input regarding the style, age, and fabric description.

Usually, I'm hanging around the garden forums. I've enjoyed my first visit here. Thanks in advance for your help.

Bon

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
love_savannah

Oops! Forgot this...double click on picture to enlarge.

Thanks and have a nice day!

Bon

Bookmark   July 13, 2010 at 10:12AM
karinl

How about just "vintage sofa with incredibly cool woodwork?"
:-)
I'm no period expert but it doesn't look stuffy enough to be Victorian to me.

I have a few similar pieces - sofa, two chairs - but no competition.

KarinL

Bookmark   July 13, 2010 at 10:34AM
lazy_gardens

Great carvings ... the upholstery doesn't look like it's as old as the sofa.

It could be as old as 1890 and as young as 1990 ... that style was in favor for a long time. My personal guess is 1920s-early 40s ... and I don't think the upholstery is the original.

Bookmark   July 13, 2010 at 11:22AM
love_savannah

Karinl and Lazygardens, I really appreciate your comments. You're right LG, the upholstery is not original. Whoever picked the fabric did a great job. I love it! The sofa sits like an old one (if you know what I mean). The men folk in our family say it's too low.

Any thoughts about an asking price. Since I really don't know anything about the age, etc., I was thinking maybe $300. In addition, I don't think there will be much of a demand for this type of sofa in this area. We'll see.

Thanks again!

B

Bookmark   July 13, 2010 at 10:28PM
Fori is not pleased