Grilling Shrimp: what's the secret?

BeanoAugust 4, 2002

Hi.

Long time reader, first time poster.

I think I'm a pretty good cook, and have mastered the grill when it comes to steaks, ribs, chicken, and such, but for some reason I seem to always undercook shrimp. I'm a dyed-in-the-wool charcoal guy and have used a Weber kettle for years. It's not the fire. I mean, I know how to make a good one. A while back I overcooked some shrimp(we had guests over) and it was like chewing on a boot. Ever since then I guess I've been gunshy and always seem to pull them off to soon. Does anyone know a foolproof method for checking shrimp doneness??? I usually cook the jumbos; 16-20/lb. Thanks.

B

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bsbbq

I cook mine until they are of the orange color and I always cook more than I want to serve so I can test one or two while I am cooking to make sure they are done. I found the timing to be difficult as well, so I started doing this and now I get great results. Good luck.

Bookmark   August 4, 2002 at 7:40PM
meagain

I've been cooking marinated peeled shrimp directly on the grill with great success. Haven't messed it up yet. I just go by the color and when they curl up a bit. More so, just a sense. The good thing about this is that it is easily solved by practice. Just keep grilling shrimp till you get it right. :) Heck - even a slightly overcooked shrimp is still pretty darn good.

Bookmark   August 5, 2002 at 12:49AM
cookingrvc

Large and jumbo only need high heat and 2-3 minutes per side, turning once. Oil the grates before grilling. As bsbbq said, testing is a great way to tell if they're cooked.

Sue

Bookmark   August 5, 2002 at 10:29AM
lindac

Wiggle the shrimp.......push on it with your finger....like you would test a steak to see how done it it. When the shrimp is just firm to the touch, take it off the grill.
Linda C

Bookmark   August 6, 2002 at 11:48PM
tmfu