Are there rules re painting/cleaning?

jane__nyJanuary 23, 2010

Will be renting a condo soon which needs painting and cleaning. It has been standing empty for months and needs a good cleaning. Two bedrooms are painted red and green. I would like that changed to a neutral color. Water in toilets and sinks have badly stained the fixtures.

Is the landlord (owner) responsible for cleaning and painting or do I have to pay for this?

Appreciate any comments as I'm new to this.

Jane

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
larke

The landlord should be responsible for cleaning. Painting is something which if it has not been done in years (more than 5-10) one might expect the LL to do, but if it's only a matter of preference (cosmetics) then everyone's different - e.g. either the LL will do it (especially if colors are flagrantly awful), or possibly make a deal with you to do it, but he would pay for paint, or may even forbid you to touch it at all. Each case (or LL) is different, so you have to talk to them. Red and green (I'll presure relatively "primary" colors) sure sound like you have a case for him to pay for the paint at the very least, and more likely re labor as well (hiring out).

Bookmark   January 23, 2010 at 4:32AM
humewood